Benjamin Gibson's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Blog Dylan

leave a comment »

“And what’ll you do now, my blue-eyed son ?
And what’ll you do now my darling young one ?
I’m a-goin’ back out ‘fore the rain starts a-fallin’
I’ll walk to the deepths of the deepest black forest
Where the people are a many and their hands are all empty
Where the pellets of poison are flooding their waters
Where the home in the valley meets the damp dirty prison
Where the executioner’s face is always well hidden
Where hunger is ugly, where souls are forgotten
Where black is the color, where none is the number
And I’ll tell and think it and speak it and breathe it
And reflect it from the mountain so all souls can see it
Then I’ll stand on the ocean until I start sinkin’
But I’ll know my songs well before I start singin’
And it’s a hard, it’s a hard, it’s a hard, and it’s a hard
It’s a hard rain’s a-gonna fall.”

A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall ~ Bob Dylan

I was listening to this song the other day and these specific lyrics got stuck in my head; over and over I was thinking about them for the rest of the evening.  I started to realize that they represent the type/style of Photography I want to strive to do.  Dylan’s lyrics capture and create pictures in my head when I listen to his songs, vivid images I can see as if I’d already shot them.

I am always amazed at the lasting impact music can have on people but more specifically artists that draw influence from the music they surround themselves with.  I’ve listened to this song who knows how may times but only now began to gather ideas for projects from the lyrics.  In my opinion as a lyricist he is unmatched, so who better to derive inspiration from when it comes to conceptualizing future projects.  From this one song I jotted down three different project ideas that I’ll be adding to the ever growing list I keep.

Written by benjamingibson

July 2, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Posted in Personal

Leave a comment