Benjamin Gibson's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Cabin Essence

with one comment

The title of this blog is a reference to Brian Wilson’s song off his album Smile.

These are just a few pictures I took about a month ago at Holly Lake Ranch in East Texas near Hawkins.  My mom and I went and stayed in a relative’s cabin for a couple days for some rest and relaxation on our “summer break.”

I find that for me getting outdoors helps me re-center and focus; both of which you can lose sight of living in an urban environment.  Something about the serenity, scenery, and clean air I suppose.

We should all take time to get away and reflect on what matters most to us and why we chose to dedicate such large amounts of time to things that really don’t.

I’ll close with a quote from Robert Frost:

“The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.”

Written by benjamingibson

July 28, 2010 at 2:29 am

Posted in Personal

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Really beautiful post Ben. The images are spectacular. Keep up the good work!

    rpenaphoto08

    July 28, 2010 at 4:08 am


Leave a comment